Ned Goodman wins Lifetime Achievement Award at Mines & Money 2016

Ned Goodman wins Lifetime Achievement Award at Mines & Money 2016

Mines & Money London 2016 came to a close with last night’s Mining Journal Outstanding Achievement Awards 2016 with Ned Goodman scooping the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The largest mining investment event in Europe saw more than 2,000 mining developers, explorers, investors, financiers, brokers and analysts from 65 countries this year.

Goodman won the prestigious award as a recognition of his contribution to the mining industry. His illustrious career included spells as a board member at Barrick Gold, leading the Hemlo gold discovery as the biggest shareholder in International Corona, involvement in establishing Kinross and Dundee Precious Metals and recently taking the chairmanship at Asante Gold.

Other winners included China Molybdenum taking the Large Cap Deal of the Year award after its US$2.65 billion purchase into Tenke Fungurume and Endeavour Mining’s CEO Neil Woodyer winning CEO of the year.

Chris Cann, Mining Journal editor, said: “Mining companies have seen improved fortunes in 2016 as a result of increasing commodity prices and improved corporate and operational efficiencies adopted during the downturn, but the industry is not yet out of the woods.

“Strong leadership has played a significant role in ensuring the sustainability of the industry through the substantial headwinds the past two years have produced.

“The 2016 Outstanding Achievement Awards is the perfect opportunity to recognise and celebrate the executives who continue to lead the industry and shape its future.”

List of winners:

Country Award, sponsored by BMO Capital Markets


Exploration Award, sponsored by DMT Consulting

Kennady Diamonds and NexGen Energy

Corporate Development Award, sponsored by SRK Consulting

Barrick Gold

Small and Mid-Cap Deal(s) of the Year, sponsored by Ontario, Canada

Reservoir Minerals

Large Cap Deal of the Year, sponsored by Hatch

China Molybdenum

Best Use of Technology, sponsored by Mining Magazine

Newcrest Mining

Mining Analyst of the year, sponsored by IBK Capital Corporation

Des Kilalea of RBC

Fund manager of the Year, sponsored by Behre Dolbear

Wehrli Walter and Erich Meier of Julius Baer Multipartner Konwave Gold Equity

CEO of the year, sponsored by Dentons

Neil Woodyer, CEO, Endeavour Mining

Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by the Lind Partners

Ned Goodman